PHS robotics team advances to state competition
PHS robotics team advances to state competition
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
A robotics team from Pattonville High School qualified for the state championship after taking awards at the FIRST Tech Challenge Qualifier at the St. Louis Community College-Meramec Campus on Dec. 9. Two Pattonville teams were among 18 teams competing for four advancement slots to the Missouri championship.

Robotics Club Team 2867, Degrees of Freedom, advanced to state after being named the winning alliance captain and earning first place for the Inspire Award. The team also earned the second-place Design Award, second-place Control Award and second-place Connect Award. Team members include Clayton Austin, Greg Bahr, Slena Caldwell, Kaleb Gines, Ian McKeown, James McMahon, Summer Miller, Alex Morschl, Yasaman Mostafavi, who is a Dean's List semifinalist, Zane Scott, William Skaggs, Kevin Stewart, Stephaun Turner, Ben Wingerter, Jenny Wingerter and Kyle Wright.

Pattonville Team 7856, Blood Sweat and Gears, won first place for the Control Award during the qualifying event. The team includes Alex Duello, Cole Dunsford, Colin Heidemann, Brendan Hilligoss, Tajh Martin, Erin McMahon, Kyle Murphy, Michael Pieper, Scott Rhinesmith, Steven Seibert, Dan Trieu, Colleen Tyarks, Sam Vaclavik and Cory Williams.

Pattonville teacher Sue Mathis sponsors the team with the assistance of engineering mentors Brian Bateman, Charlie Hall, Gary Mathis, Carl Miller, Colin Shipley, Doan Trieu and Rick Wingerter.